Sunday, February 23, 2014

A Happy Sunday to you, Friends,

Sherrilyn Kenyon writes…“Sometimes things have to go wrong in order to go right.”  

Prior to November 7, 2013, I would have viewed that quote as something encouraging to say to someone else who is going through adversity in their lives.  For the past three and a half months, I find myself applying that phrase to my life and that of my family.

As many of you know, I lost my job back in November and, for the first time in nearly forty years, I found myself unemployed.  I joined the millions who have been, and continue to be, out of work and searching for economic stability and a sense of meaning and purpose in this very tough economic climate we’re in today.

During these past few months, I’ve been torn as to what path to follow.  The natural and more comfortable path would be to continue looking in the field I’ve worked in for the past 18 years.  I continue to look at available opportunities in that field today.

But I’ve also had this little voice in my head telling me to look down another path. One that provides more of a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction.  One that performs a valued service to someone else.  One that enables me to pursue what I LOVE doing in life versus something that just pays the bills and maintains a certain standard of living I’ve become accustomed to.

Now paying the bills and earning an income high enough to support a reasonably comfortable lifestyle is no small item and I don’t wish to come off sounding cavalier about it.  After all I do have a family to support with a child in her early high school years, but there are other things to consider too.  

The benefit of good health, peace in one’s heart, reduced stress from the “rat race” and a true joy in life.  Those are equally important as I see it, even though they may not be measured in dollars and cents.

The fact is, I love to cook!

Cooking brings me joy.  It brings me satisfaction in pleasing another human being through the art of creating a scrumptious meal for them.  It stirs my creative juices and I frequently have ideas of new dishes and combinations running through my head.

My love of cooking is what lead me to recently create this blog.  It’s what has lead me to investigate things such as becoming a personal chef, becoming a professional blogger about cooking or maybe even opening my own restaurant.

I’m clearly in a state of transition and the path is not yet clear (my wife would say it had better become clear pretty soon) but I am moving forward, even if the destination hasn’t yet been determined.  

But this much I do know.  As I approach 60 years of age, I prefer to invest my time and energy into things that bring happiness to others, my family and myself.  If that means rearranging existing priorities and financial realities, so be it.

Life is too short to spend it stressed out to the max doing something we don’t enjoy and that others don’t appreciate and constantly live in a “what have you done for me lately” world.

I don’t yet know what my future niche is but I do believe it will become clear if I remain open and watchful to all the possibilities.  This much I do know.  We only go around once in this life. When it’s all said and done, I want to be remembered for the kind of person I was more than what I did for a living.

CJ