Tags

, , , , , ,

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Good Morning, Foodies,

I don’t know about the rest of you but I’ve had it with winter!

This winter has been the most brutal in my memory.  If we aren’t getting a seemingly regular 6″ snowfall, temperatures sink well into the below zero category.  I believe we’ve had a few days this winter, here in Oswego, IL, where the mercury dipped to 18 below zero, ACTUAL TEMPERATURE, not wind chill.  Enough!

I miss grilling!

010b

Oh I know, there are you diehards out there who don’t let a little thing like weather get in the way of firing up that grill.  I’m not one of them.  I draw the line at wading through 2 and 3 foot snow drifts and enduring bone chilling temperatures.  I’m a wuss.  I’ll admit it.

But this week, we were treated to temperatures that hit 40 DEGREES!  The tease card has been played.  And, as if right on cue, the weather forecast for the next few days calls for MORE SNOW, followed by single digit temperatures as we ring in March.

Alas, I know the worst is behind us.  The majority of winter is over.  Spring awaits, despite what that rodent out in Pennsylvania might say.  And just this morning, as I looked out the back patio door, a sure sign things are turning in the right direction.  I can see my grill, completely void of any snow.

Let the grilling begin!

CJ